PDA

View Full Version : A reflection

cinemabon
10-05-2004, 08:23 AM
I am constantly amazed at how the impact of technology has on each generation. For film, the stark contrast with my high school graduation and the current trend is so vastly different, I don’t believe its true influence on society will be realized for years to come.

When I graduated in 1970, the only mode with which to see film was in one of two ways. One was to watch it on a small screen (at the leisure of the broadcaster) with a resolution of 240 horizontal lines, and that was on a perfect day with a good antenna. The other was to see it in a revival theater (something new then and only in large cities); again at the whim of the owner who decided what it was they wanted to show.

Within ten years, all that changed. Cable television was introduced, and along with that, increased access to film. While resolution was still poor, you could at least see movies on channels that showed little else. A thing called the VCR was also introduced. Over night, people had invented a cottage industry, taping and exchanging video prints of films. That segued into films being released by studios as “pre-recorded” versions, which led to rentals. Why buy when you can just rent? Of course for film buffs, they wanted their own copy. Whole rooms had to be dedicated to storing your “tape” collections.