PDA

View Full Version : The most important thread I will ever make on this site

cinemabon
01-06-2009, 10:56 PM
2009 is a pivotal year for me in many ways.

I campaigned for Barack Obama and continue to champion his causes. I am not a liberal or conservative, per se, but feel I am an American, helping out his country. However, this will be an important year for me in another way.

As many of you know, I am a writer and have completed my first novel. The novel is in the final stages of polish. Insecure, I hired an editor to help give the story a final look for errors in punctuation and grammar before I put it to print.

The story is science fiction, a comfortable genre to me. I initially wrote the story five years ago. My son liked it so much, he asked me to write a sequel. That led to another and so on. I wrote ten novels in the series. For the past three years, I have attempted to obtain an agent or publisher. This is nearly impossible. So I gave up.

I am now self-publishing the novel. I will either have a work of pride or be a colossal failure. Either way, as Jack Kennedy so aptly put: "I would rather be the bloodied fighter in the ring than in that sea of timid souls looking on..."

When I put the manuscript to bed in another month, I will reveal my true name and the title of my novel (though a few of you know me already). If you feel your pocketbook weighing you down some day of the week, buy the damn thing and let me know if you think its a yarn of mediocre quality... how's that for selling a product? I never could sell poor people that Rainbow vacuum cleaner.

Sincerely, Cinemabon January 7, 2009

Johann
01-07-2009, 12:23 PM
That's just plain awesome cinemabon.
Self-publishing is the way to go.
Jim Morrison and Henry Rollins did it and so have many many poets.
Major publishers aren't the best arbiters of taste.
Your son is. Your Mom is. Your brother is. People who mean something to you are.

Let me know the mailing info and I'll buy it right away.