(from VERDICT)

European Film Awards Nominees:

The European Film Academy revealed the nominees for the main categories of the 36 European Film Awards The winners will be revealed in the festive award ceremony that takes place on 9 December in Berlin.

European Film:

ANATOMY OF A FALL (ANATOMIE D’UNE CHUTE) directed by Justine Triet, produced by Marie-Ange Luciani & David Thion (France)
FALLEN LEAVES (KUOLLEET LEHDET) directed by Aki Kaurismäki, produced by Aki Kaurismäki, Misha Jaari, Mark Lwoff & Reinhard Brundig (Finland, Germany)
GREEN BORDER (ZIELONA GRANICA) directed by Agnieszka Holland, produced by Marcin Wierzchos?awski, Fred Bernstein & Agnieszka Holland (Poland, France, Czech Republic, Belgium)
ME CAPTAIN (IO CAPITANO) directed by Matteo Garrone, produced by Matteo Garrone, Paolo Del Brocco, Ardavan Safaee & Joseph Rouschop (Italy, Belgium)
THE ZONE OF INTEREST directed by Jonathan Glazer, produced by James Wilson & Ewa Puszczy?ska (United Kingdom, Poland, USA)

European Director:

• Justine Triet for ANATOMY OF A FALL
• Aki Kaurismäki for FALLEN LEAVES
• Agnieszka Holland for GREEN BORDER
• Matteo Garrone for ME CAPTAIN
• Jonathan Glazer for THE ZONE OF INTEREST

European Actress:

• Sandra Hüller in ANATOMY OF A FALL
• Alma Pöysti in FALLEN LEAVES
• Mia McKenna-Bruce in HOW TO HAVE SEX
• Leonie Benesch in THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE
• Sandra Hüller in THE ZONE OF INTEREST

European Actor:

• Thomas Schubert in AFIRE
• Jussi Vatanen in FALLEN LEAVES
• Josh O’Connor in LA CHIMERA
• Mads Mikkelsen in THE PROMISED LAND
• Christian Friedel in THE ZONE OF INTEREST

European Screenwriter:

• Justine Triet & Arthur Harari for ANATOMY OF A FALL
• Aki Kaurismäki for FALLEN LEAVES
• Maciej Pisuk, Gabriela ?azarkiewicz-Sieczko & Agnieszka Holland for GREEN BORDER
• ?lker Çatak & Johannes Duncker for THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE
• Jonathan Glazer for THE ZONE OF INTEREST

European Discovery:

This award is presented in co-operation with FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics, to a director for the first full-length feature film. A committee composed of FIPRESCI members and experts appointed by the European Film Academy decides upon the six nominated productions.

• 20,000 SPECIES OF BEES (20.000 ESPECIES DE ABEJAS) directed by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)
• HOW TO HAVE SEX directed by Molly Manning Walker (United Kingdom, Greece)
• LA PALISIADA directed by Philip Sotnychenko (Ukraine)
• SAFE PLACE (SIGURNO MJESTO) directed by Juraj Leroti? (Croatia, Slovenia)
• THE QUIET MIGRATION (STILLE LIV) directed by Malene Choi (Denmark)
• VINCENT MUST DIE (VINCENT DOIT MOURIR) directed by Stéphan Castang (France, Belgium)